My Native during Monsoon|Sirsi,Karnataka

Believe me, nature is not a place to visit. It is a home. It is home of happiness, home of wealth, home of the priceless jewel of joy and harmony.

Today I’m introducing my second home (grandmother’s home) which is located in-between the dense forest of Western Ghats. This place is home to several species of snakes, some wild animals, insects, and most importantly huge varieties of trees and plants.

Location

It is a small village named Kodanamane located around 26km from Sirsi taluk, Uttar Kannada district, Karnataka.

It is around 430 km from Bangalore.

My experience

This place is very close to my heart as I spend a couple of weeks here every year. This place blows my mind every time I visit here. Recently I visited here and stayed for around 15 days and I swear it was the most memorable and relaxing days.

DAY 1

I got up around 9 am, had my breakfast, and stepped out for random hiking. It took me about 40min to reach the top and what an amazing view it was! It was around 10:30 am when I was at the top. I was feeling like it was 6 am. It was a bit rainy day so I didn’t get to see any sun rays falling over there. I spent about an hour and a half at the top and then returned home.

Coat to feel warm during rain
View from the top

DAY 2

On this day I went with my grandfather for a jungle walk. On the other side of the jungle, he has an areca plantation, so I went with him to visit it. We walked around 3miles to reach there. They don’t have roads to reach there. so, walking is the only way left. The walk was memorable after getting a bite of some 50 leaches. I felt like I was having free leach therapy. It is a common scene during the rainy season here. on the way, I got to see many small water streams. The constant sound of a few birds and the cold and calm weather was just amazing. I fall short of words in expressing it.

Pathway through the jungle
Areca plantation

How to get off from leech easily?

-Leech is an insect with slimy skin which is regularly found in wet regions and they feed on humans and suck the blood. They also act as blood purifiers.

-It is difficult to remove by hand because they stick very strongly to the skin. So, its good to use a small stick wrapped with cotton cloth at one end with some lime on it.

– Leech dies when they come in contact with fire or lime.

Leech

-A special thing of a leech is that they get off from our skin when they suck enough blood from our bodies. As soon as they leave our skin, we will have some itching at the spot where they have bit us.

– Leech never dies until it comes in contact with fire or lime. During the summer season, they turn into a structure of stick, and as soon as they come in contact with moisture, they become super active.

-It is good wearing knee-length dresses so that we can easily identify when leech gets on to our legs. when you notice them moving on our skin just put some lime on them they suddenly leave the skin.

DAY 3

Morning I visited a river. I spent some time sitting on the bank of the river. Then I walked towards Ganesh temple which was 200mts from there. I took blessings and headed back home since it started raining heavily. And it rained cats and dogs for the whole day. Evening I again visited the river only to see so much increase in the water level. The river was touching the bridge and flowing. I was feeling very good watching it because this happens only once in a year. (PS: it’s been said by the locals).

And this gave a beautiful ending to that day.

River
Way leading to the river

Some everyday scenes

–       I would only get to see rain for the whole day. And I love watching the rain and getting wet.

–       I would visit the areca plantation during the afternoon.

–       Daily evening, I used to go on a casual walk in the rain . I found many small streams of water coming from the hills and lately joining the big streams. I would sit on branches and just listen to the amazing music of nature. It was very refreshing.

–       Every day would end with a bonfire put at the backyards of the home to warm ourselves. Because it gets very cold at night. I miss those bonfire nights because it was not only me sitting there instead the whole family get-together and share some old interesting stories and enjoying . I feel like those were the days I lived more.

Water flowing from hills
A natural pond
Post office
Bonfire at night

Nearby places

Shree Maarikamba temple ( around 5km from the city center)

Devikere Lake ( 4km from the city center)

Kotekere lake(4km from the city center)

Unchalli waterfalls( around 35km from Sirsi)

Bhimnari hills( around 10km from Unchalli falls)

Yana caves( around 62kmfrom Sirsi)

Sahasralinga( around 15km from sirsi)

Unchalli waterfalls
View accompanying the falls
Sunset at Bhimnari hills

Tips before traveling

-One can make their stays in lodges because there are very few resorts or the homestays.

-It is preferred to rent a vehicle for traveling to these places because there are few means of public transport available.

– If you wish to visit any plantation in the village then do take permission from the locals.

– If you want to go on random hiking then take advice from the locals about that place. Because there are infectious plants and insects which can cause some allergies if didn’t pay attention to them.

 Sunrays in Areca plantation
Areca tree roots
Black pepper plant

Published by Ashwini Hegde

I am Ashwini Hegde. I'm presuming my engineering and love travelling. I am here to share my travel experiences in the form of travel guide, photos memoir, travel hacks and travel tips. I am self learnt and learning photographer. I am from Gadag. you can get in touch with me ashwinihegde36@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “My Native during Monsoon|Sirsi,Karnataka

Comments are closed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started